Databases 

Penetanguishene Library Online Catalogue

         

Find books and materials

Check your account and Renew items


Patron Initiated Interlibrary Loan
 



Online Databases & Links

A to Z Maps Online

Funded by the County of Simcoe Library Co-operative
This great database provides users with over 145,000 maps including world maps, country maps, continent maps and more! Many maps are available for download and are a great tool for may school projects! 

Ancestry (Library Edition) is available to access only at the library.

Funded by the Province of Ontario
Ancestry.com is a genealogy research tool with data from census, military records, court, land, probate, vital and church records, passenger lists, etc. It covers Canada, the US, UK, and some European countries. 

AudioBookCloud

Funded by the Province of Ontario
This database offers free audio books for children and young adults to listen online. Search by author, title or category and find a variety of books of all different genres.

The Canadian Encyclopedia

Funded by the Penetanguishene Public Library

Canadian Points of View

Funded by the County of Simcoe Library Co-operative
This database is located under the EBSCOhost section of the Electronic Resources. It offers Canadian views and information on various topics. Browse by category or view all topics such as global issues, politics, crime culture and more.

Canadian Reference Centre

Funded by the County of Simcoe Library Co-operative

Career Cruising logo

Funded by the Province of Ontario
This database offers a suite of online career guidance and planning tools designed for people of all ages. You can find the right career, explore education and training options, build your own portfolio, manage your school’s course selection process, or set up a career development network in your community.

Chilton's (Auto Repair)

Funded by the Province Of Ontario
This database provides patrons with access to information about various vehicles including, cars, trucks and vans. Select the year, the make the model and a variety of information about repair and more becomes available!

Consumer Health Complete

Funded by the Province of Ontario
This database is located under the EBSCOhost section of our resources. It offers various medical and health information. Diagrams, fact sheets, pamphlets, evidence based reports and more offer a lot of useful and helpful information. 

CultureGrams

Funded by the County of Simcoe Library Co-operative
This resource offers various articles and references about our world. You can search under categories such as "World Edition", "Province Edition", "Kids Edition" and more. A great resource with current information.

Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online

Funded by the Penetanguishene Public Library

eBooks
EBSCO Host Project Gutenberg PULSE
EBSCO Host logo
General Help

*eAudiobooks Also Available
Project Gutenberg logo
eReaders (How To)
General Facts
File Formats FAQ
PULSE logo
*eAudiobooks Also Available
Software
Adobe Digital Editions
Adobe Digital Editions logo
Overdrive Media Console
Overdrive Media Console logo

Encyclopedia Britannica Online (Public Library Edition)

Funded by the Penetanguishene Public Library

Encyclopaedia Universalis

Funded by the Penetanguishene Public Library

Gale Databases

Funded by the Province of Ontario
This database provides patrons with an enormous amount of resources including Gardening, Landscaping, Hospitality, Health & Wellness and so much more! Access the Gale Databases in order to see these 28 great resources.

Global Road Warrior (The Ultimate Guide to the World)

Funded by the County of Simcoe Library Co-operative
This database provides patrons with a massive database of constantly updated proprietary editorial and graphics for 175 countries of the world. It provides deep content coverage in major topic areas of society and culture, travel, communications, business, trade, marketing, and security. Maps, editorials, photographs and more! 

Government Web-Links

Hockey Hall of Fame

Funded by the Penetanguishene Public Library

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Centre

Funded by the Province of Ontario
This resource is located on the EBSCOhost section. This page offers information on various hobbies and crafts. Scrapbooking, electronics, games, paper crafts and many more activities are listed on the main page. You can also search for various crafts and activities. 

Home Improvement Reference Centre

Funded by the County of Simcoe Library Co-operative
This resource is located under the EBSCOhost section of our resources. It offers a variety of information on home improvement projects and ideas. There is information available on decorating, remodeling, woodworking and more.  

LearningExpressLibrary Canada

Funded by the Province of Ontario
This resource offers patrons with various resources and information in various areas of learning. Elementary school, highschool, computer skills, job and workplace skills and more are available resources to use. Check out the practice tests, exercises and skill building courses available to help gain successful results!

FIRST TIME LOGIN INSTRUCTIONS:

Click the Register button under the New Users section at the bottom of the page.

Enter your username (your library card number with no spaces/dashes), create a password, verify your password, and then click the Register button. Usernames and passwords must be a minimum of 6 characters and should not include spaces. Please save your username and password as they will be required each time you logon to the site. 

Choose one of the Learning Centers on the left to access our resources. 

Library Catalogue

Literary Reference Centre

Funded by the County of Simcoe Library Co-operative
This database offers patrons with a variety of information on popular authors and a literary works. View the Literary Historical Timeline or browse the different authors and works available. 

Mango Languages

Funded by the County of Simcoe Library Co-operative
This database offers patrons with an online language learning system. This feature offers lessons in a variety of languages including, French, Italian, Greek, Russian, Spanish and more. 

NoveList K-8 Plus

Funded by the Province of Ontario
This database is located under the EBSCOhost section of our resources. With NoveList K-8 Plus, you will be able to more effectively integrate the world of reading in your school's curriculum. Recommended reading lists are designed to help students find their next book, while Grab and Go Book Lists, tied to curricular topics, are designed to be a quick start for teachers and school media specialists.

NoveList Plus

Funded by the County of Simcoe Library Co-operative
This database is located under the EBSCOhost section of our resources. It offers information on various authors and books. Browse the author read-alikes or check out the recommended reads. Information available for adults, teens, younger kids and older kids.

PebbleGo

 Access only within the Penetanguishene Public Library

Funded by the Province of Ontario
This database is a great resource for children and young adults. It host a variety of information about a variety of different species and different classifications of animal. Check out the site and see what you can find!

Science Reference Centre

Funded by the County of Simcoe Library Co-operative

Small Engine Repair Reference Center

Funded by the County of Simcoe Library Co-operative
This database offers information on various small engine repairs. Search under categories like outdoor power equipment, tractors, motorcycles and more. A great resource!

Teen Health & Wellness

Funded by the Province of Ontario
This database provides students with curricular support and self-help on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more.

That's My Family / Voici Ma Famille

 

World Book

From World Book you may also access:

Dramatic Learning

Early Peoples

Early World of Learning

Encyclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

Inventions and Discoveries

L'Encyclopédie Découverte

Living Green

Science Power

World Book Online For Kids

World Book Online Info Finder

 

 

 

***


    


Site Map             Disclaimer